Let me introduce you to my two new BFsF.

Standard

Well, I had great plans for this Summer.

After visiting my dear friend Natalia in Buenos Aires for New Year and having the best time ever (as I always have when I’m with her, her husband and her super puppy Arne), I had planned to gorge in leisure. Well, kind of…

I had planned to do some painting and repairs at home (which I did and were exhausting but the house looks so much better now!), but mostly, I had planned to read, read, and read. Here, there’s proof of that:
037

I had so many great books I didn’t know where to start!

I hadn’t counted with one little detail though.  I didn’t see coming that Suzanne Collins’s Hunger Games saga  was going to hook within my soul in such a way I couldn’t stop thinking about the story and the characters and the way the books are written and how she’s so amazing and bloody accurate when describing emotions and shifts in moods and opinions when one is under stress and so on and on.

I realized I had to put a healthy stop to re-reading the books for a third time in a row and tried, on my honor I swear it!, I really tried to get interested in any of the other books. After a glimpse at the first three  lines in Martin’s A Game of Thrones I knew I couldn’t bear it; not after The Games. I reached page 10 in Le Guin’s  Malafrena but I got tired of the punctilious description of scenery and the story… well, it is as good as any of Le Guin’s stories, but it lacked so much to put me back on track again that I put the book aside.

I’m a compulsive reader, so I didn’t quit. I told myself King’s Dome was going to make it, no doubt; but after 20 pages of reading how bodies had been cut apart by the sudden appearance of the Dome wall and how awful accidents happened for the same reason I couldn’t make myself read another page. I think the problem was much deeper, though. I think I couldn’t face any other character being misused or tricked by  soulless people or by destiny. Katniss and Peeta had been enough. That’s why I haven’t been able to continuing reading World Without End for almost a year. Follet’s Pillars of the Earth, was so dearing to me that thinking that some characters related with those in the first book might suffer is too much. But at the same time, I couldn’t stand a feeble story to pass time.

Books weren’t an option, so I had the brilliant idea of turning to film! Oh, my! I don’t regret it at all, but now I’m deeper into obsession than before. I happened to watch an episode of…

sherlock

Sherlock.

And I was a goner.

I watched the three seasons twice and I stopped just because my internet contract was reaching its monthly limit. I tried to hire an extended one, for God’s sake! but I still have some little sense left in me and half- accepted I can’t afford it. Yet, I’ve been really tempted to watch just one episode more and the heck with bills!

Now, I just count the days to February 1st, when I have my 12GB back for my next fix; but meanwhile nothing, NOTHING seems interesting enough. Everything is sooo boring and mild! I’ve spent most of my time  zapping  non-stop without watching anything in particular.

I have  read 400 pages of A Game of Thrones and when I can’t take it anymore, I read Malafrena, but it would be the same if I weren’t reading at all.

So, what’s the conclusion?

I warn you, they are highly addictive; but I wouldn’t change them for the world. That bad is my need and I’m not being funny. I mean it.

Leave a Reply

